

SMOKE SIGNALS

-= THE OFFICIAL PUBLICATION OF THE ABSENTEE SEMINOLE TRIBE OF TEXAS =-

Volume: 77 absenteeseminoletribe.org May 2024

TRIBAL COUNCIL

Principal Chief: Lee R. Young

Assistant Chief: Louis B. Watson

COUNCIL MEMBERS

Mary S. Young, Secretary

Clarence G. Ward, Treasurer

Marsha Jo Butler

Richard L. Watson

PRINCIPAL CHIEF'S MESSAGE: Hensci, Seminoles

On June 15, 2024 we will have our general election voting, general tribal meeting, and fund raising event. The events will be held in Brackettville, at the Kinney County Civic Center.

Voting 10 am - 12 pm Sale of Lunch - 12:30 pm - until sold out! Loteria - 3:00 pm - 5:00 pm General Tribal meeting - 6:00 pm Dance (DJ Trevino) 8:00 pm - 12:00 am

June 15, 2024 we will be holding our 3rd General election of Tribal Council members. Any eligible tribal member is encouraged to seek a position on the Tribal Council.

Tribal Council 2024 Election

As of 04/01/2024 the following tribal members will be on the 2024 ballot.

Lee R. Young – Principal Chief Richard L. Watson – Assistant Chief Tribal Council Mary S. Young Marsha Jo Butler Clarence G. Ward Ebonie M. Walker Dorothy L. Ward

An enrolled member desiring to be on the Tribal Council election ballot is requested to submit their nomination to info@absenteeseminoletribe.org by May 30, 2024.

Voting

How to vote - Where to vote

How to vote – A member unable to attend the June 15, 2024 voting may request a mailin ballot. Notify the ASTT office by mail: **P O Box 1932, McKinney TX 75070**, or email – <u>info@absenteeseminoletribe.org</u>. Include in your request your address where the ballot will be mailed to you.

The deadline for receiving mail-in ballots is June 8, 2024.

Voting will be held on June 15, 2024 from **10:00 am to 12:00 pm** at the Kinney County Civic Center, Brackettville TX.

May Birthdays

Jonathon Riley Factor – May 1 Sherhondia A. Green – May 1 Viviana Benson - May 1 Douglas C. Ward - May 5 Steven C. Young – May 9 TiJanae Watson – May 10 Ronald Q. Blanks – May 12 Jonathon C. Francis – May 13 Ernest Benson, Jr – May 17 April D. Polite – May 20 Kaylin J. Jackson – May 20

Hubert D. Williams – May 20 Cubert Young III – May 22 Shaelyn D. Stocker – May 24 Quillen B. Green – May 25 Dorothy L. Ward – May 26 Myla R. Tabora – May 28 Amara R. Coleman – May 29 Julia F. Naylor – May 29 Carl D. Young – May 31



TRIBAL IDENTIFICATION CARDS: Tribal Identification Cards are available for \$25, valid for 5 years. The Tribal Identification Cards, are an official means to identify tribal members. Tribal Identification Cards do not replace any official government issued identification, they provide a means for members to proudly display their tribal enrollment.



TRIBAL IDENTIFICATION CARD RENEWAL

Tribal Identification Cards are beginning to expire – we will mail expiration notices. Everyone encouraged to check the expiration date on their Tribal Identification Cards. Renewal only requires submission of payment of \$25, payable to Absentee Seminole Tribe of Texas.

CHANGE OF ADDRESS

If you change residence, get a new telephone number, new email address, or any other changes in contact information. Forward your new information to our office.

FACEBOOK

https://www.facebook.com/AbsenteeSeminoleTribeTexas/

FB users visit and "Like" our FB page

Absentee Seminole Tribe of Texas P. O. Box 1932 McKinney, TX 75070-8162

E-Mail - info@AbsenteeSeminoleTribe.org

Website: https://AbsenteeSeminoleTribe.org



ABSENTEE SEMINOLE TRIBE OF TEXAS

Juneteenth Celebration - June 15, 2024

Dance 8:00 PM - 12:00 AM

Music provided by "DJ Trevino" Raffles during dance

Kinney County Civic Center

Brackettville, TX

Reserved dance tickets \$10.00 @ the door tickets \$15.00

Celebration Lunch 12:00 PM plates \$12.00

(Brisket, Rice, Beans, Potato Salad, Drink (tea/water), & Desert)

Loteria 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM

will play 15 games, \$20/15 games of play, additional cards \$1 each per game

Proceeds benefit the ASTT Scholarship fund

Proud Seminoles United